Mark W. Johnson

Teens: Texting and Twittering Less Than Adults?

In Uncategorized on June 26, 2009 at 4:34 pm

Not sure what to make of this study. I’m conflicted. Seems like Nielsen has a lot riding on traditional media use. Maybe my political background is jading my perception on this. I think they jump the shark when they say that:

* While teens multi-task in their media usage, this behavior may actually be lower than among adults.

Complete study here as a .pdf.

I have a teenage girl. She sits in front of the TV with a laptop watching a You Tube video and one earbud in from her I-Pod.  If she wasn’t homeschooled she would probably have a cell phone and be texting a friend about the You Tube video.

This will probably be the first of a couple of posts on this. I am sending this around to a couple of New Media types and going to get their feedback. Stay tuned.

Leave a comment