Mark W. Johnson

Forty-Seven Tabs — Part 2

In Uncategorized on June 8, 2009 at 6:28 am

Check Username Availability

So one of the items I handled this weekend was getting my name registered on a few key social networking sites. I had registered for a few of these accounts in the past but not with my proper name. So I now have an account on Digg and UStream.  If you Digg then consider adding me as a friend and any UStream shows/interviews I do in the future I will announce here.

Why did I spend time doing this?  I for one think as we move forward with more social media it is important to have your claim staked and your name is the best place to start. When you have a common name like Mark Johnson I think it is even more important. So all ypu Smith’s and Jones reading this need to get on the ball. To check what was available I used namechk  and you can too by clicking the logo above.

 BrightTALK

While catching up on e-mail this weekend and I found a link inside a Mashable update to a free online seminar hosted by BrightTalk on June 24th. The seminar is called Engagement Marketing

About this summit

To get customers involved with your brand, you need content, experience and dialogue, making two-way marketing a critical part of your marketing plan. The ultimate goal of engagement marketing is to allow customers to be actively involved in the production and co-creation of marketing programs, rather than just passive receivers of messages. The summit will feature leading authorities presenting a series of topical webcasts run over the course of a full day, addressing marketing strategies for businesses to bring customer participation into the evolution of a brand.

Click the logo above and get the landing page for the different topics covered. Pretty cool and you can’t beat free.

OK….last cool site I looked at this weekend. It’s called Pursuasive.Net. This could have been founded by my fraternity brother Shannon Kirkpatrick but it’s ran by A.J. Kumar, a Gen Y Southern California guy. I like his style and have to say his post Persuade Someone in 5 Steps
has one of the better uses of a Bill Clinton photo in a blog post that I have ever seen.

Blogged with the Flock Browser
Leave a Reply

